Wednesday, March 14, 2012
For more information contact:
Holly VonLuehrte
(502) 573-0450


Commissioner Comer congratulates Poster and Essay Contest winners

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Agriculture Commissioner James Comer saluted the winners of the Kentucky Department of Agriculture’s annual Poster and Essay Contest at the annual Kentucky Agriculture Day luncheon March 14 at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History in Frankfort.

“The winning entries really captured this year’s theme – ‘It All Starts With Agriculture,’” Commissioner Comer said. “Agriculture is responsible for food, fiber, medicines, building materials, and many other items that we depend on in our everyday lives. Agriculture also creates thousands of jobs and generates millions of dollars of economic activity in Kentucky. I congratulate these young people for their efforts, and I also want to thank their parents and teachers for their support.”

Statewide winners in kindergarten through 12th grade were awarded $100 each.

Essay contest winners and schools in each grade, with their teachers’ names in parentheses, were:

Kindergarten – Seth Green, Franklin County Early Learning Village, Frankfort (Tina Adcock)

First grade – Andrew Hatcher, Alvaton Elementary (Carolyn Gifford)

Second grade – Maggie Lott, Deer Park Elementary, Owensboro (Lisa Clark)

Third grade – Brady Terry, Whitesville Elementary (Derek Grant)

Fourth grade – Jackson Reaves, Williamstown Elementary (Natalie Wolfe and Anna Thompson)

Fifth grade – Drayden Rogers, Still Waters Academy, Union (Sara Rogers)

Sixth grade – Cameron Taylor, Still Waters Academy, Union (Sara Rogers)

Seventh grade – Elizabeth Meredith, King Middle School, Harrodsburg (David Roberts)

Eighth grade – Dalton Mason, Pineville Middle School (Elizabeth Madon)

Ninth grade – Ben Riggs, LaRue County High School, Hodgenville (Misty Bivens)

10th grade – Logan Osborne, Williamstown High School (Mackenzie Wright)

11th grade – Laura Jane Phelps, Woodford County High School, Versailles (Tracy Probst)

12th grade – Stefan Fink, George Rogers Clark High School, Winchester (Holly Lewis)

Poster contest winners and schools in each grade, with their teachers’ names in parentheses, were:

Kindergarten – Layla Carrillo, Franklin County Early Learning Village, Frankfort (Jennifer Reusch)

First grade – Isaac Deaton, Plano Elementary School, Bowling Green (Andrea Vincent)

Second grade – Zoe Barker, Deer Park Elementary, Owensboro (Lisa Clark)

Third grade – Phoebe Wagoner, Nicholas County Elementary, Carlisle (Janie Livingood)

Fourth grade – Braden Mills, Pineville Elementary (Karen Jeffrey)

Fifth grade – Clayton Terry, Whitesville Elementary (Lori Beaty)

Sixth grade – Sarah Clark, Memorial Elementary, Hardyville (Sarah Vetter)

Seventh grade – Corey Mills, Pineville Middle School (Elizabeth Madon)

Eighth grade – Deanna Cashel, King Middle School, Harrodsburg (Tiffany Penn)

Ninth grade – Tariq Onodu, Western Hills High School, Frankfort (Janis Kirstein)

10th grade – Allison Davis, Mercer County High School, Harrodsburg (Julia Snellen)

11th grade – Amanda York, Metcalfe County High School, Edmonton (Christopher Long)

12th grade – Sidney Northrup, West Jessamine High School, Nicholasville (Dee O’Connor)

The statewide winner of the Bonnie Plants Third Grade Cabbage Contest also was honored at the luncheon. Kacy McLean of Scott County received a check for $1,000 from Terry Lake, a Kentucky sales representative for Bonnie Plants. Kacy grew a cabbage that weighed 29 pounds.

To see the winning posters and read the winning essays, go to

To see photos from the Kentucky Agriculture Day luncheon, go to the Kentucky Department of Agriculture's page on Facebook.