Kentucky Proud

National School Lunch Programs

Child Nutrition Commodity Program

The Division of Food Distribution coordinates the distribution of commodities to more than 1,600 schools and residential child care institutions providing meals to students. The National School Lunch Program supports recipient agencies by providing cash reimbursements for meals served in schools, but also through providing nutritious, USDA-donated foods.

Our division facilitated the distribution of USDA donated foods valued at over $24 million to more than 245 school systems serving over 400,000 students daily.

    Eligibility Requirements:
    Independent, public, private and qualifying Residential Child Care Institutions (RCCIs) are eligible if the following criteria are met:
  • Must be an education unit of high school grade and under, operating under public or nonprofit private ownership.
  • Must be in compliance with Civil Rights requirements.
  • Must be Federally Tax Exempt.
  • A school that does not participate in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP), but operates a nonprofit school food service program under agreement with the Kentucky Department of Education, School and Community Nutrition.
  • A 24 hour child care institution, if eligibility is met.

DOD Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program

Recipient agencies utilized over $3.5 million to purchase fresh produce through the Department of Defense Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program. DOD provides additional fresh fruits and vegetables for Kentucky students in school meals to help fight obesity among school-aged children.

Processed USDA Donated Foods

The USDA Further Processing Program allows eligible recipient agencies participating in the NSLP USDA donated foods program to work with commercial food processors by converting bulk or raw USDA donated foods into more convenient, palatable end products.

Commercial Distributors

The Kentucky Department of Agriculture, Division of Food Distribution, is responsible for the logistics of getting USDA donated food to Recipient Agencies. Kentucky, through the state bid process, contracts with commercial distributors to receive, store, and distribute USDA donated foods. Recipient agencies are delivered these USDA donated foods in exchange for a per case delivery fee.

Region – Distributor List

Click to see Region Distributor and Info Memo
Region – Distributor
(Click on Region to see Info Memo)
Case
Price
Backhaul
Price
Storage Charge
Beyond 60 Days
REGION 1 – KC Provision
Contact: Jenny Tapp
kcprovisions@att.net
$3.08 $2.77 $.77
REGION 3 – Gordon Food Service
Contact: Sally Palmer
sally.palmer@gfs.com
$2.88 $2.59 $.72
REGION 4 – Reinhart Food Service
Contact: Amy Hardcastle
ACHardcastle@RFSDelivers.com
$3.64 $3.28 $.91
REGION 5 - Gordon Food Service
Contact: Maryann Crowdis
maryann.crowdis@gfs.com
$2.31 $2.08 $.58
REGION 6 - Reinhart Food Service
Contact: Amy Hardcastle

ACHardcastle@RFSDelivers.com

$3.49 $3.14 $.87
REGION 7 – CRS One Source

Contact: Ashley Wink

awink@crsonesource.com

$3.04 $2.74 $.76
REGION 8 - Reinhart Food Service
Contact: Amy Hardcastle

ACHardcastle@RFSDelivers.com

$3.03 $2.73 $.76

REGION 9 – Clarks Restaurant Service
Contact: Ashley Wink

awink@crsonesource.com

 

$3.04 $2.74 $.76

Close this window

 

DOD Fresh Fruit and Vegetables Program

FFAVORS System Contacts Hattie Richardson 215-737-7192

Regional Coordinator

Find a Regional Coordinator
Jesse Frye
  • Allen
  • Ballard, Butler
  • Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden
  • Daviess
  • Fulton
  • Graves
  • Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins
  • Livingston, Logan, Lyon
  • Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg
  • Ohio
  • Simpson
  • Todd, Trigg
  • Union
  • Warren, Webster

Eliza Jane Cruse
  • Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt
  • Edmonson
  • Green, Grayson
  • Hancock, Hardin, Hart
  • Jefferson
  • LaRue
  • Marion, Meade,
  • Nelson
  • Taylor
  • Washington

Benson Bell
  • Adair
  • Bell
  • Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland
  • Harlan
  • Jackson
  • Knott, Knox
  • Laurel, Leslie, Letcher
  • McCreary, Metcalfe, Monroe
  • Owsley
  • Perry, Pulaski
  • Rockcastle, Russell
  • Wayne, Whitley

Larry Garriott
  • Boone, Bracken
  • Campbell, Carroll
  • Gallatin, Grant, Greenup
  • Harrison, Henry
  • Kenton
  • Lewis
  • Mason
  • Oldham, Owen
  • Pendleton
  • Robertson
  • Scott, Shelby, Spencer
  • Timble

Jessica Garland
  • Bath, Boyd, Bourbon, Breathitt
  • Carter, Clark
  • Elliott, Estill
  • Fleming, Floyd
  • Johnson
  • Lawrence, Lee
  • Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan
  • Nicholas
  • Pike, Powell
  • Rowan
  • Wolfe

Steve Castanis

  • Anderson
  • Boyle
  • Fayette, Franklin
  • Garrard
  • Lincoln
  • Jessamine
  • Mercer
  • Woodford

 

The Regional Coordinators will check their messages daily, if immediate attention is required contact Steve Castanis at 502-573-0433.

Jesse Frye
jesse.frye@ky.gov
Eliza Jane Cruse elizajane.cruse@ky.gov
Benson Bell benson.bell@ky.gov
Jessica Garland jessica.risner@ky.gov
Larry Garriott larry.garriott@ky.gov
Steve Castanis steve.castanis@ky.gov

Close this window

State Approved Processors

The State Processing Program allows States and eligible recipient agencies such as school districts to contract with commercial food processors to convert bulk or raw USDA commodities into more convenient ready-to-use end products.

    There are two types of Processor Agreements permitted under the Kentucky's Processing Program, which include:
  • The State Participation Agreement which is an agreement that Kentucky will do business with the processor under the umbrella of the National Processing Agreement maintained by USDA with specific additional provisions. Forms for this agreement may be found on this website.
  • The Master Processing Agreement will be used ONLY for processors who are not "multi-state" processors. That is the processor does business ONLY in the state of Kentucky. The forms for this agreement may be obtained from the Division of Food Distribution, Kentucky Department of Agriculture, Phone: 502-573-0439.
List of State Approved Processors through June 30, 2017
AdvancePierre Foods, Inc
9990 Princton Glendale Road
Cincinnati, OH 45246
Contact: Valerie Fairbanks
Telephone: 800-553-0282 ext 656
Fax: 513-874-5150
valerie.fairbanks@advancepierrefoods.com

 

Barrel O Fun Snack Foods Co.
PO BOX 230
Perham, MN 56573
Contact Person: Karmen Bruhn
Telephone: 218-346-8001
Fax: 218-346-7008 kbruhn@barrelofun.com

Basic American Foods
2121 North California Blvd,
Ste 400
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
Contact: Shawna Anderson
Telephone: 925-472-4202
Fax: 925-472-4360
sanderson@baf.com

 

Bongards Creameries
13200 County Rd 51
Bongards, MN 55368-9525
Contact Person: Joe DeAntoni
Telephone: 952-466-3582
Fax: 952-466-3525
joed@bongards.com

Bosco's Pizza Company
25000 Guenther Road
Warren, MI 48091
Contact: Lisa Wright
Telephone: 313-563-3908
Fax: 313-563-3918
lwright@boscospizza.com

 

Brookwood Farms
PO BOX 277
Siler City, NC 27344
Contact: Gib Brooks
Telephone: 919-663-3612
Fax: 919-663-2396
gibbrooks@brookwoodfarms.com

Cafe Favorites
3025 Whitten Road
Lakeland, FL 33811
Contact: Carolyn Wilberts
Telephone: 863-937-8829
Fax: 863-937-8831
ckwiberts@cafefavorites.com

 

Cargill Kitchen Solutions
206 W Fourth Street
Monticello, MN 55362
Contact: Becky Turner
Telephone: 763-271-5773
Fax: 763-271-5716
becky_turner@cargill.com

ConAgra Foods
801 Dye Mill Road
Troy, OH 45373
Contact: Lynn Deloye
Telephone: 937-440-2957
Fax: 937-339-1024
lynn.deloye@conagrafoods.com

 

Culinary Standards Corp
1101 East Washington Street
Louisville, KY 40206
Contact: Valerie McCoy
Telephone:502-587-8877
Fax: 502-587-0150
vmccoy@culinarystandards.com

ES Foods
20 Crossways Park N
Woodbury, NY 11797
Contact: Barbara Canty
Telephone: 516-682-5494
Fax: 516-364-7478
bcanty@esfoods.com

 

Fresh Innovations LLC
410 Spruce Street
Burlington, WA 98223
Contact Person: Karen Peterson
Telphone: 949-454-6115
Fax: 888-521-5681
Karen@lunchlineinc.com

Giorgio Foods Inc
PO Box 96
Temple, PA 19560
Contact: Darlene Schadler
Telephone: 800-330-5705
Fax: 610-916-4157
dschadler@giorgiofoods.com

 

High Liner Foods USA, INC
18 Electrontics Avenue
Danvers, MA 01923
Contact: Ned Hawkins
Telephone: 978-750-5276
Fax: 978-777-6849
ned.hawkins@highlinerfoods.com

Horzion Snack Foods
7066 Las Positas Road, Ste G
Livermore, CA 94551
Contact: Donna Kimbrell
Telephone: 925-215-4215
Fax: 925-373-8303
dkimbrell@horizonsnackfoods.com

 

House of Raeford Farms, INC
520 E Central Ave
Raeford, NC 28376
Contact: Mike Ptak
Telephone: 901-878-4280
Fax: 910-875-8301
mike.ptak@houseofraeford.com

Icelandic
190 Enterprise Drive
Newport News, VA 23603
Contact Person: Sandy Couch
Telephone: 757-820-4056
Fax: 757-888-0317
scouch@icelandic.com

 

Intergrated Food Service
310 West Alondra Blvd
Gardena, CA 90248
Contact: Andrea Sutton
Telephone: 310-523-3664
Fax: 310-523-1619
alsh@integratedfoodservice.com

J M Smuckers Company
1 Strawberry Lane
Orrville, OH 44667
Contact: Kristie Ihrig
Telephone: 330-684-3755
Fax: 330-684-3475
kristie.ihrig@jmsmuckers.com
J.R. Simplot Company
6360 South Federal Way
Boise, ID 83716
Contact: Debbie Black
Telephone: 208-384-8155
Fax: 208-384-8020
debbie.black@simplot.com

 

Jennie-O Turkey
Store Sales, LLC

2505 Willmar Avenue SW
Willmar, MN 56201
Contact: Joy Trowbridge
Telephone: 574-858-0430
Fax: 574-858-0911
jttrowbridge@j-ots.com

JTM Provisions Co. INC
200 Sales Drive
Harrison, OH 45030
Contact: Roger Doseck
Telephone: 800-626-2308
Fax: 513-367-3519
rogerdoseck@jtmfoodgroup.com

 

King's Command Foods, INC
7622 South 188th Street
Kent, WA 98032
Contact: Kaj A. Sonjia
Telephone: 800-247-3138
Fax: 425-251-0523
kajsonjia@kingscommand.com

Kings Delight
PO Box 5935 WSB
Gainesville, GA 30504
Contact: Sharon Hawley
Telephone: 770-536-5177 ext 142
Fax: 770-531-1603
sharon.hawley@kingsdelight.com

 

Lamb-Weston
8701 W Gage Blvd
Kennewick, WA 99336
Contact: Stacey Kinnunen
Telephone: 509-736-0462
Fax: 509-739-0395
stacey.kinnunen@conagrafoods.com

Land-O-Lakes
PO Box 64101
St Paul, MN 55154
Contact: Tami Johnson
Telephone: 651-481-2364
Fax: 651-766-1735
TSJohnson@landolakes.com

 

Maid-Rite Steak Company, Inc.
105 Keystone Ind Park
Dunmore, PA 18512
Contact: Susan Hartung
Telephone: 570-343-4748 ext 165
Fax: 570-969-2878
shartung@maidritesteak.com

McCain Foods USA
2275 Cabot Drive
Lisle, IL 60532
Contact: John Baxter
Telephone: 913-851-8549
Fax: 913-857-9636
john.baxter@mccain.com

 

MCI Foods, Inc.
13013 Molette Street
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670-5521
Contact Person: Dan Southard
Telephone: 562-977-4099 ext 306
Fax: 562-977-4099
dan@mcifoods.com

Miceli Dairy
2721 E 90th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
Contact: Bridget Villeneuve
Telephone: 734-446-1117
Fax: 734-453-1800
bridget@unitedcommoditygroup.com

 

Michaels Foods
301 Carlson Parkway, Ste 400
Minnetonka, MN 55305
Contact: James Ruhling
Telephone: 412-793-7601
Fax: 413-793-0196
james.ruhling@michaelsfoods.com

National Food Group
(United Commodity Group)

44450 Pinetree Drive
Plymouth, MI 48170
Contact: Bridget Villeneuve
Telephone: 734-453-0612 ext 1117 or 734-446-1117
Fax: 734-453-1800
bridget@unitedcommoditygroup.com

 

Out of the Shell, DBA Lings
212 Santa Fe Street
Pomona, CA 91767
Contact: Michael Lim
Telephone: 626-826-8755
Fax: 626-401-1925
lings.micheal@gmail.com

Pilgrims Pride Corporation
1770 Promontory Circle
Greely, CO 80634
Contact: Michael Rioux
Telephone:678-691-5322 or
614-717-9030
Fax: 972-290-3488 or
614-717-9492
michael.rioux@pilgrimspride.com

 

Red Gold. LLC
120 East Oak Street
Orestes, IN 46063
Contact: Toni Hueston
Telephone: 301-251-5515
Fax: 301-251-5516
thueston@redgold.com

Red River Commodities
501 42nd Street North
Fargo, ND 58102-3022
Contact Person: Karen Peterson
Telphone: 949-454-6115
Fax: 888-521-5681
Karen@lunchlineinc.com

 

Rich Products
1 Robert Rich Way
Buffalo, NY 14213
Contact: Diana Schaefer
Telephone: 716-878-8597
Fax: 716-878-8520
dschaefer@rich.com

SA Piazza
15815 SE Piazza Ave
Clackamas, OR 97015
Contact: Dusty Brown
Telephone: 503-708-9626
Fax: 253-238-9349
dbrown@sapiazza.com

 

Schwan's Food Service
115 West College Drive
Marshall, MN 56258
Contact: Nancy Coleman
Telephone: 800-533-5290
Fax: 507-537-5499
nancy.colman@schwans.com

SunWise Foods, LLC
225 E Main
Perham, MN 56573
Contact Person: Karen Peterson
Telephone: 949-454-6115
Fax: 888-521-5681
Karen@lunchlineinc.com

 

Tasty Brands
2 Placid Street
Jericho, NY 11753
Contact: David Horowitz
Telephone: 516-938-4588
Fax: 516-935-1825
Dhorowitz@tastybrandsK12.com

Tyson Sale and
Distribution, INC

2210 W Oaklawn Drive
Springdale, AR 72762
Contact: Tracy McGowan
Telephone: 866-601-8174
Fax: 479-203-4246
tracy.mcgowan@tyson.com

 

Wawona Frozen Foods
100 W Alluvial Avenue
Clovis, CA 93611
Contact: Toni Lindeleaf
Telephone: 559-299-2901
Fax: 559-299-1921
tonil@wawona.com

Close this window

Food Distribution Handbook

Food Distribution Commodity Recipes

Recipes
Fruits  pdf   Vegetables  pdf
Apple Crisp 23kb   Bean Soup 21kb
Apple Cherry Crisp 23kb   Corn Pudding 23kb
Cheese Apple Crisp 23kb   Cowboy Beans 21kb
California Cilng Peach Crumb 23kb   Pineapple Glazed Sweet Potatoes 23kb
Fruit Cobber 24kb   Creamed Green Beans 21kb
Rosey Applesauce 21kb   Tomato Catsup 23kb
 
Breads
Blueberry Muffins pdf (23kb)   Honey Rolls pdf (23kb)
Rice Muffins pdf (23kb)   French Bread pdf (23kb)
Basic Sweet Bread pdf (22kb)   Fairdale Speedy Rolls pdf (23kb)
Cherry Banana Bread pdf (23kb)  
 
Desserts  pdf   Cookies  pdf
Dessert Extavia 21kb   Praline Cookies 21kb
Fool Proof Pastry 21kb  
 
Other Recipes
Honey Butter 21kb

Close this window

Recalls and Alerts